top of page
Search

2018, When it all started...

Updated: Apr 14, 2021

Graduating college was supposed to be the best thing to happen in my life. I got my degree in Business Management with a minor in Economics thinking I had a bright future. Little did I know then that I would experience something that is called agoraphobia. For those of you that don't know what that means, it's a type of anxiety that occurs after several panic attacks. There is also a fear of being alone and leaving the house. When I moved back home from college I found myself experiencing even more anxiety and panic then usual. So what did I do? I started to limit myself and avoided leaving my house if I didn't have to. I stopped going to family events, shopping, and even going on vacation. I wasn't doing the things I used to love doing because I lived in fear. Whenever I tried to leave my comfort zone I would experience a lot of emotions. My heart rate rapidly increases, I feel like I can't breathe, and with that comes a lot of chest pain. I feel like I'm numb. I'm scared that I will pass out or even die at any moment because I just don't feel safe. I know no one has died from anxiety or a panic attack, but when I'm experiencing it that is how I feel. I had a lot of my family members tell me that I needed to seek help but I wasn't ready to accept that I needed help. Instead I catered into the agoraphobia and allowed it to take over my life. I thought I could help myself on my own but little did I know this was bigger than I could have ever imagined. It took me three years to seek help. Be on the look out for more posts to learn more about my journey and stories with having agoraphobia.




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page